Gradual suppression of functions until the WhatsApp account is useless
It’s true: as confirmed at the end of the first full week of May, WhatsApp will not delete accounts of those who insist on not accepting the new privacy conditions. In return, it threatens to turn those accounts into a simple username that you will not receive messages or calls. You won’t even have notifications.
The disconnection of WhatsApp by sections will happen like this:
- May 15 is the deadline to accept privacy changes (this does not affect European citizens).
- If from that date the new policy is not accepted, WhatsApp will limit functions. The first is that the app’s chat list will disappear; even though it is still possible to access the conversations by clicking on the relevant notification.
- During the first weeks it will be possible to make and receive calls.
- The entire application will be restored at all times if the user gives up and accepts the conditions. Otherwise WhatsApp will continue with the scissors.
- After a few weeks of limited use the application it will stop sending notifications, it will not receive messages, it will not give access to the chat list and calls will be lost (neither can be done nor received).
It is true that WhatsApp is not going to eliminate the accounts of those who do not want to give their arm to twist, but, after the reduction of functions, they will end up having a practically useless application. And there is one last point to keep in mind:
If you stop using the account because WhatsApp has disabled it after not accepting the new conditions, the company can permanently delete it if more than 120 days pass without you using it
More information | WhatsApp